top of page
Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Featured Posts

Back to the Sewing Machine


After a week and a half of dealing with 'life' I've finally managed to sit down today with my fabric box to start planning my next makes.


We've had some family illness to deal with and I have been getting settled into a new part time job, so I've purposely put aside creating to allow myself time to adjust to new things.


I'm making small wall-hanging bud vases today. They use very little fabric, so I can afford to use some of the more expensive fat quarters without feeling too wasteful. They're an unusual concept, originally designed around a box of glass test tubes I acquired, but have proved quite popular in the shop. I simply make a little rectangle of fabric, embellished with ribbons and buttons. The test tubes then sit in them to take water and single stems. I finish them with a little metal hoop on the back so they can be hung on a hook to add floral decorating in the smallest of rooms!


I'm going to try and get a few made today so I can re-stock the shop and have some left over for any events I feel like doing. They're great for using up scraps of fabric, even sometimes using a less interesting print on the back where it won't be seen.


I'd like to make some fabric flowers to display in them too, so I may work on a pattern for those while I'm at it. We'll see how that goes; I may be over-ambitious with my few days away from my other job...






Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page